Open Educational Resources at MDC: Overview: Mathematics & Computer Sciences

• 

  Arithmetic for College Students

  Covers whole numbers, fractions, decimals, percents, ratios and proportions, measurement, and integers. Geometry and statistics are integrated throughout the text rather than covered in independent sections. The textbook does not include exercises. Instead, a collection of handouts/worksheets is available, as well as online homework.
• 

  Fundamentals of Mathematics

  Textbook that covers the traditional study in a modern prealgebra course, as well as the topics of estimation, elementary analytic geometry, and introductory algebra.
• 

  Prealgebra - OpenStax

  Designed to meet scope and sequence requirements for a one-semester prealgebra course. The book’s organization makes it easy to adapt to a variety of course syllabi. The text introduces the fundamental concepts of algebra while addressing the needs of students with diverse backgrounds and learning styles.
• 

  College Algebra - OpenStax

  Provides a comprehensive exploration of algebraic principles and meets scope and sequence requirements for a typical introductory algebra course. The modular approach and richness of content ensure that the book meets the needs of a variety of courses.
• 

  College Algebra

  An introductory text for a college algebra survey course. The material is presented at a level intended to prepare students for Calculus while also giving them relevant mathematical skills that can be used in other classes.
• 

  Intermediate Algebra

  This textbook is used by the Department of Mathematics at College of the Redwoods in Eureka, California for instructional purposes in their Math 120 course, Intermediate Algebra.
• 

  Intermediate Algebra

  Written in a clear and concise manner, it carefully builds on the basics learned in Elementary Algebra and introduces the more advanced topics required for further study in applications found in most disciplines.
• 

  Precalculus - OpenStax

  Adaptable and designed to fit the needs of a variety of precalculus courses. It is a comprehensive text that covers more ground than a typical one- or two-semester college-level precalculus course.
• 

  Calculus Volume 1 - OpenStax

  Designed for the typical two- or three-semester general calculus course, incorporating innovative features to enhance student learning. Volume 1 covers functions, limits, derivatives, and integration.
• 

  Calculus Volume 2 - OpenStax

  Volume 2 covers integration, differential equations, sequences and series, and parametric equations and polar coordinates.
• 

  Calculus Volume 3 - OpenStax

  Volume 3 covers parametric equations and polar coordinates, vectors, functions of several variables, multiple integration, and second-order differential equations.
• 

  APEX Calculus

  This text comprises a three–text series on Calculus. The 1st part covers material taught in many “Calc 1” courses: limits, derivatives, and the basics of integration. The 2nd text covers material often taught in “Calc 2:” integration and its applications, along with an introduction to sequences, series and Taylor Polynomials. The 3rd text covers topics common in “Calc 3” or “multivariable calc:” parametric equations, polar coordinates, vector–valued functions, and functions of more than one variable.
• 

  Active Calculus - Grand Valley State University

  Actively engages students in learning the subject through an activity-driven approach in which the vast majority of the examples are completed by students. Where many texts present a general theory of calculus followed by substantial collections of worked examples, we instead pose problems or situations, consider possibilities, and then ask students to investigate and explore.
• 

  Applied Calculus

  A brief course in differential and integral calculus, with applications focused on business and the life and social sciences.
• 

  Elementary Differential Equations

  A first course in ordinary differential equations. Written for students in science, engineering, and mathematics who have completed calculus through partial differentiation.
• 

  A First Course in Linear Algebra

  An introductory textbook aimed at college-level sophomores and juniors. Typically students will have taken calculus, but it is not a prerequisite. The book begins with systems of linear equations, then covers matrix algebra, before taking up finite-dimensional vector spaces in full generality.
• 

  A First Course in Linear Algebra: An Open Text

  Presents an introduction to the fascinating subject of linear algebra. As the title suggests, this text is designed as a first course in linear algebra for students who have a reasonable understanding of basic algebra. Major topics of linear algebra are presented in detail, with proofs of important theorems provided.
• 

  Elementary College Geometry

  This text is intended for a brief introductory course in plane geometry. It covers the topics from elementary geometry that are most likely to be required for more advanced mathematics courses. The emphasis is on applying basic geometric principles to the numerical solution of problems.
• 

  Business Math; A Step-by-Step Handbook

  This textbook covers topics such as taxes, gross earnings, product prices, currency exchange; loans, lines of credit, mortgages, leases, savings bonds, and other financial tools. It also discusses how to execute smart monetary decisions both personally and for their business.

• 

  Statistics - OpenStax

  Follows scope and sequence requirements of a one-semester introduction to statistics course and is geared toward students majoring in fields other than math or engineering. The text assumes some knowledge of intermediate algebra and focuses on statistics application over theory.
• 

  Introductory Statistics

  This book is meant to be a textbook for a standard one-semester introductory statistics course for general education students.
• 

  OpenIntro Statistics (3rd edition)

  Introduces students to the discipline of statistics as a science of understanding and analyzing data. Students learn how to collect data, how to analyze data, and how to use data to make inferences and conclusions about real world phenomena.
• 

  Collaborative Statistics

  This textbook is intended for introductory statistics courses being taken by students at two– and four–year colleges who are majoring in fields other than math or engineering. Intermediate algebra is the only prerequisite. The book focuses on applications of statistical knowledge rather than the theory behind it.
• 

  Introduction to Probability

  This text is designed for an introductory probability course taken by sophomores, juniors, and seniors in mathematics, the physical and social sciences, engineering, and computer science. It presents a thorough treatment of probability ideas and techniques necessary for an understanding of the subject.

• 

  Think OS: A Brief Introduction to Operating Systems

  An introduction to Operating Systems for programmers. Includes material from operating systems, networks, databases, and embedded systems, but it emphasizes the topics programmers need to know.
• 

  Physical Modeling in MATLAB

  An introduction to programming in MATLAB and simulation of physical systems.
• 

  Think Python How to Think Like a Computer Scientist

  An introduction to Python programming for beginners. It starts with basic concepts of programming, and is carefully designed to define all terms when they are first used and to develop each new concept in a logical progression.
• 

  How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: C++ Version

  The single most important skill for a computer scientist is problem solving. The goal of this book is to teach you to think like a computer scientist.
• 

  How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python

  The goal of this book is to teach you to think like a computer scientist. This way of thinking combines some of the best features of mathematics, engineering, and natural science. The single most important skill for a computer scientist is problem solving. As it turns out, the process of learning to program is an excellent opportunity to practice problem solving skills using Python programming.

• MyOpenMath
• WeBWorK
• Online Interactive Graphing Application
• GeoGebra
• Khan Academy - Math
• PhET Math
• Virtual Math Lab
• Learning Math: Measurement
• Math Toys
• MathIsPower4U
• Annenberg Learner Math Interactives
• EdReady

MathBook XML A lightweight XML application for authors of scientific articles, textbooks and monographs.

Integrating WeBWorK into TextbooksSample Exercises
And this is how they can work together.  Create your textbook in MathBook XML and your homework using the bank of exercises in WeBWork.  Embed the homework directly into the textbook.

WeBWorK-MathBook XML Bridge Project Complete
Learn more about the Open Oregon project linking these resources together.